< Back to NHMU

Curriculum Standards Alignments

Research Quest is a series of interactive virtual science investigations designed for middle school teachers and their students. Research Quest was created by the Natural History Museum of Utah with an all-star team of learning experts, university research scientists, museum professionals, and digital designers.

Research Quest investigations align with the curriculum learning standards found across many grades with an emphasis on middle school. These investigations have been aligned with middle school standards outlined in the Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS), English Language Arts (ELA) Common Core, and Utah’s SEEd standards (science).


NGSS Lesson Plans

The Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS) require students to learn a variety of science and engineering practices, crosscutting concepts, and disciplinary core ideas throughout grades K-12. At its heart, NGSS puts focus on learning science by doing science. All of Research Quest’s interactive online lessons align with the NGSS.

English Language Arts Standards

The Common Core and Utah's English Language Arts (ELA) standards include proficiency in reading, writing, speaking, and listening. All of Research Quest’s investigations require deciphering informative text, responding to writing prompts, and participating in discussions that align with these and other ELA standards.

Utah SEEd Standards

Utah’s Core Standards were updated to include Utah's new Science with Engineering Education (SEEd) standards. Research Quest’s online investigations align to many of these standards with an emphasis on middle school standards. Please view the individual curriculum alignments below to learn more.

Which Investigations Align To My Standards?

Investigating Artifacts

6th-8th Graders
The Investigating Artifacts investigations are aligned to Utah U.S. I Standard 1.1, Utah SEEd standard 8.1.4, NGSS PS1.A, DOK levels 1-4, and ELA Common Core Standards.



Archaeology Curriculum
Standards >

Change in the Uinta Mountains

6th-8th Graders
The Uinta Mountains investigations are aligned to Utah SEEd standard 6.4, NGSS MS-LS2, DOK levels 1-4, and ELA Common Core Standards.

Uintas Curriculum
Standards >

Cleveland-Lloyd Dinosaur Quarry

6th-8th Graders
The Mysteries of Cleveland-Lloyd investigations are aligned to Utah SEEd standards (7.2.2, 7.2.6, 7.5.2, 7.5.3), NGSS (MS-LS2-2, MS-LS2-4, MS-LS4-1, LS4-2), DOK (Levels 1-4), and ELA Common Core Standards.



Dinosaur Curriculum
Standards >

To Eat or Not Eat?

6th-8th Graders
Wonder how predators choose their prey? Conduct your own research to find out.

Coming Soon!

Getting Started With Research Quest